PROCEEDINGS OF SPIE

Physical Chemistry of Semiconductor Materials and Interfaces XXI

Andrew J. Musser Derya Baran Editors

23–24 August 2022 San Diego, California, United States

Sponsored and Published by SPIE

Volume 12199

Proceedings of SPIE 0277-786X, V. 12199

SPIE is an international society advancing an interdisciplinary approach to the science and application of light.

Physical Chemistry of Semiconductor Materials and Interfaces XXI, edited by Andrew J. Musser, Derya Baran, Proc. of SPIE Vol. 12199, 1219901 © 2022 SPIE · 0277-786X · doi: 10.1117/12.2661543

Proc. of SPIE Vol. 12199 1219901-1

The papers in this volume were part of the technical conference cited on the cover and title page. Papers were selected and subject to review by the editors and conference program committee. Some conference presentations may not be available for publication. Additional papers and presentation recordings may be available online in the SPIE Digital Library at SPIEDigitalLibrary.org.

The papers reflect the work and thoughts of the authors and are published herein as submitted. The publisher is not responsible for the validity of the information or for any outcomes resulting from reliance thereon.

Please use the following format to cite material from these proceedings: Author(s), "Title of Paper," in *Physical Chemistry of Semiconductor Materials and Interfaces XXI*, edited by Andrew J. Musser, Derya Baran, Proc. of SPIE 12199, Seven-digit Article CID Number (DD/MM/YYYY); (DOI URL).

ISSN: 0277-786X ISSN: 1996-756X (electronic)

ISBN: 9781510653825 ISBN: 9781510653832 (electronic)

Published by **SPIE** P.O. Box 10, Bellingham, Washington 98227-0010 USA Telephone +1 360 676 3290 (Pacific Time) SPIE.org Copyright © 2022 Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).

Copying of material in this book for internal or personal use, or for the internal or personal use of specific clients, beyond the fair use provisions granted by the U.S. Copyright Law is authorized by SPIE subject to payment of fees. To obtain permission to use and share articles in this volume, visit Copyright Clearance Center at copyright.com. Other copying for republication, resale, advertising or promotion, or any form of systematic or multiple reproduction of any material in this book is prohibited except with permission in writing from the publisher.

Printed in the United States of America by Curran Associates, Inc., under license from SPIE.

Publication of record for individual papers is online in the SPIE Digital Library.



Paper Numbering: A unique citation identifier (CID) number is assigned to each article in the Proceedings of SPIE at the time of publication. Utilization of CIDs allows articles to be fully citable as soon as they are published online, and connects the same identifier to all online and print versions of the publication. SPIE uses a seven-digit CID article numbering system structured as follows:

• The first five digits correspond to the SPIE volume number.

• The last two digits indicate publication order within the volume using a Base 36 numbering system employing both numerals and letters. These two-number sets start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B ... 0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc. The CID Number appears on each page of the manuscript.

Contents

v Conference Committee

ADVANCES IN POLARITONICS

- 12199 02 Molecular cavity polariton formation using multimode resonator structures (Invited Paper) [12199-8]
- 12199 03 Photophysics and photochemistry of functionalized anthradithiophene in microcavities (Invited Paper) [12199-11]

BULK AND INTERFACIAL TRIPLET DYNAMICS

12199 04 Magnetic field effects on triplet pairs in organic crystals (Invited Paper) [12199-16]

Conference Committee

Symposium Chairs

Gennady B. Shvets, Cornell University (United States) Cornelia Denz, Westfälische Wilhelms Universität Münster (Germany)

Symposium Co-chairs

Reuven Gordon, University of Victoria (Canada) Natalia M. Litchinitser, Duke University (United States)

Conference Chairs

Andrew J. Musser, Cornell University (United States) Derya Baran, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia)

Conference Program Committee

Artem A. Bakulin, Imperial College London (United Kingdom)
Natalie Banerji, Universität Bern (Switzerland)
Hugo A. Bronstein, University of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
Jenny Clark, The University of Sheffield (United Kingdom)
Daniel Congreve, The Rowland Institute at Harvard (United States)
Felix Deschler, Technische Universität München (Germany)
Alexandre Fürstenberg, Université de Genève (Switzerland)
David S. Ginger, University of California, Berkeley (United States)
Robert Lovrincic, Technische Universität Braunschweig (Germany)
Paul Meredith, Swansea University (United Kingdom)
Christian Nielsen, Queen Mary University of London (United States)
Lee J. Richter, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States)

Carlos Silva, Georgia Institute of Technology (United States) Sergei Tretiak, Los Alamos National Laboratory (United States) Lauren Webb, The University of Texas at Austin (United States) Omer Yaffe, Weizmann Institute of Science (Israel)