Editorial



Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize

The Kingslake Medal and Prize is presented annually in recognition of the most noteworthy original paper to appear in *Optical Engineering* on any topic in the discipline of optical science and engineering. The award for the 1996 journal year (Volume 35) will be the 23rd time the award has been given. Previous award winners are given in the table below. It is certainly the most prestigious paper award in our field.

Congratulations Pär Kierkegaard

Dr. Pär Kierkegaard of the Division of Assembly Technology at Linköping University in Sweden is the winner for 1996 for his paper entitled "Reflection properties of machined metal surfaces." The award will be made in person by the president of the society at the SPIE Awards Banquet scheduled at the Annual International Symposium on Optical Science, Engineering, and Instrumentation to be held from July 27 to August 1 in San Diego, California. The Awards Banquet is scheduled for Wednesday, July 30, at the San Diego Marriott Hotel and Marina.

The members of the Selection Committee were Glenn D. Boreman (chair), Groot Gregory, John E. Greivenkamp, Paul F. McManamon, and Kevin P. Thompson. We thank them for a challenging task well executed. The citation reads as follows:

Dr. Kierkegaard's contribution is an important extension of the classical bidirectional-reflectance models, facilitating the structural description of a variety of machined surfaces. The optical properties of these surfaces are crucially important for practical application of machine-vision systems in manufacturing environments. Validation of the analysis was accomplished by an extensive experimental investigation.

> Brian J. Thompson Editor

Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize—Past Recipients			
1974	Irving R. Abel and B. R. Reynolds	1987	Chris P. Kirk
1975	J. M. Burch and C. Forno	1988	Ares J. Rosakis, Alan T. Zehnder, and
1976	Richard E. Swing		Ramaratnam Narasimhan
1977	David B. Kay and Brian J. Thompson	1989	Pochi Yeh, Arthur Chiou, John Hong, Paul H.
1978	Norman J. Brown		Beckwith, Tallis Chang, and Monte Khoshnevisan
1979	J. R. Fienup	1990	Paul R. Prucnal and Philippe A. Perrier
1980	G. Ferrano and G. Hausler	1991	Brian E. Newman
1981	Robert A. Sprague and William D. Turner	1992	Aden B. Meinel and Marjorie P. Meinel
1982	David M. Pepper	1993	Harvey M. Phillips and Roland A. Sauerbrey
1983	James R. Palmer	1994	Jose M. Sasian
1984	Gene R. Gindi and Arthur F. Gmitro	1995	Arnold Daniels, Glenn D. Boreman, Alfred D. Ducharme,
1985	Armand R. Tanguay, Jr.		and Eyal Sapir
1986	Arthur D. Fisher, Lai-Chang Ling, John N. Lee, and Robert C. Fukuda		